0 Menu

Black Springs "When We Were Great"


IMPORTANT: If you are ordering 3 or more records please send us an email (meritoriorec@gmail.com) stating which records you'd like and we'll invoice to you applying lower shipping costs.

Small run of 12" vinyl LPs.

Album released by Oven Material (COOKED 01) and distributed in Europe by Meritorio Records.

Includes download code and unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

Sydney four-piece Black Springs have released their debut LP.

Mixed by Caleb Jacobs (aka Plum) and boldly titled 'When We Were Great', it sure is a moody collection of guitar reverie. The buoyancy of singles Boys In Blue and Slinky Day make way for more fragile yet equally catchy moments throughout (e.g. Low, Answers) with a healthy dose of the band’s trademark wig-outs thrown in for good measure (Bitter and Twisted, Staying in Again).

The band's unashamed pop sensibility and noisy guitars hint at Teenage Fanclub, only with a propensity for repetition a la Microcastle-era Deerhunter. An enduring unease with the banalities of everyday life adds a distinctively Australian flavour to that mix. I'm not gonna say dolewave. BAH! Maybe just listen for yourself.

Released March 22, 2017

All songs by black springs (shaun donovan, leighton holloway, tony lopes, tim story)
Mixed by caleb jacobs (aka Plum)
Mastered by mikey young

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required